i gotta feeling

And it’s Hump Day! I’m celebrating with a trip to Goochland to see the fam in a few — Al’s been trekking out there quite often lately to work on the batteau, but I’m usually working. Tonight, I thought I’d be at the gym until after he left, but my trainer double-booked and so I’m home early. So, I’m off to the country for a few hours tonight. Don’t worry, I’ve already packed up all the ingredients for applesauce muffins. We always have trouble finishing them, anyway, so maybe I can find a good home for the leftovers. :)

In other news, it’s March at McG’s, and we all know what that means. After reveling in the weekends and beautifully wasted time that came along with my two-nights-per-week schedule in February, it’s back to the daily grind this month. I’ve got a three night week this week, and then two four-nighters coming up. And the thing is, it’s not just regular shifts, either. St. Paddy’s day is a six-day extravaganza this year, meaning that my shifts will most likely run consistently into the early hours of the morning. It promises lots of fun and hilarity as the festivities around this time of year at an Irish pub usually do, but it’s going to be a little tough to make it to the day job! It was different in college, you know – although not recommended, it’s possible to go to class and just not pay attention (don’t tell?). I can’t really go to work and not do anything, though. We’ll see. Luckily, I have a flexible schedule and will be able to go to the day job a couple of hours later than normal if I need to. The owl on my wallet will surely be hooting with glee after all of these late nights, but my bed will probably be pouting from neglect at the same time. Wish me luck!

At work this morning, I had to post something on the blog about a really cool event happening in the building where my office is, and I totally fell in love with this cello group I was helping to promote! They play familiar pop and rock tunes on the cello, and something about it is so appealing to me. Since I’ve been working on grad school applications so much lately, I’ve really struggled to find music that’s upbeat and motivating without being distracting. This group is just what I’d been looking for! They only have a couple of songs on their MySpace page, but check out the Low Strung Cellos.

Speaking of grad school apps, I only have TWO left to finish! I can hardly believe it. I’ve officially applied to eleven. How absurd is that? I’m pretty proud of myself, though. I mean, I had absolutely no clue what I was doing — I only applied to one school for undergrad because I was fortunate enough to get into UVa early. So I was starting from scratch! Anyway, I’m almost done, and am hoping to finish up late this week or early next week. Like I mentioned before, I won’t have time for much other than work and more work after that anyway. To celebrate being almost done, I bought myself two new books (nerd central, I know) to read once I’m finished. Only an English major buys books as a celebratory gift to self, huh? Check out the two collections of short stories here and here.

As promised, here are a few more pictures from last weekend’s trip. I’m glad I spread them out over two posts….looking at pictures from the trip again reminds me what it’s like to take a deep breath every now and then. Isn’t funny how easy it is to forget that in the span of a couple of days?

Enjoy the pictures, and look for more (muffin-style) soon. Love!

puzzle pieces. cool pic, huh?

more obx fantabulousness

family photo (minus part of charlie's face)

family photo #2 :)

1 Comment

Filed under the back burner.

One response to “i gotta feeling

  1. Sara Garver

    Listen. I just discovered that you had a blog. How out of touch can I possibly be? I adore these photographs. Also, I am also equal nerd and I reward myself with books. I lust after them. I have this black moleskine notebook (the small cahiers that come in 3-packs) that I write books, movies, authors, actresses, etc. in that I desire. Most of it is compiled of various desired book objects though. :) When I do well I go to B&N or some other used bookstore. Cheers to book treats.

Leave a Reply

