growth and productivity.

Let’s get it out of the way – bad news first – got another rejection letter. This time from Warren Wilson College, which is actually the oldest low-residency MFA program in the country. Again, it would have been an honor to have been accepted, but the skinny letter in the mail just made me more excited about Queens. Still 8 more to hear from!

Now that that’s over with, here is my recipe for a fantastic day:

  • get a lot done
  • laugh
  • start something new
  • eat delicious food.

Let’s go through step by step. One – get a lot done. I’m working from home today, and in between writing emails and working on newsletters, I’ve gone for a run, straightened, dusted, and vacuumed my apartment, and done laundry (with no stray socks! it’s the little things, you know?).

Two – laugh. First of all, I got a text from Blackman this morning that said: “Roxie caught a touchdown pass in my dream last night.” Need I say more? Secondly, I had lunch here with Alex this afternoon, and we had a great time. More on that later.

Three – start something new. We just got a “Fifth Season” gardening store in Charlottesville, and it just so happens to be right next to the laundromat. I went by there today, because as I’ve said before, I really want to grow something this year. It’s this strange urge I’ve had recently that I credit mostly to writing. Once you start creating something, it’s hard to stop. So I went to “Fifth Season,” where the guy working was amazing and so helpful, and came home with two organic plants – oregano and rosemary. I’m super excited about them; they’ll be easy to care for and won’t take up a lot of space. And of course, they’ll be delicious. I can’t wait to use them!

Four – eat delicious food. In case you haven’t noticed, this is a pretty huge qualification for my daily life. I love food, I love cooking, and I love eating. So, when Alex said he’d come over for lunch today, I made the most amazing avocado wraps. I came up with the “recipe” based on some online research and suggestions from my mom. I use whole wheat wraps and fill them with avocado, garlic hummus, cucumber, mushrooms, lettuce, havarti cheese with dill, and a little S & P. It’s tasty, filling, and just makes you feel good.

So there you have it – growth and productivity on a Monday. It doesn’t get much better than that. :)

1 Comment

Filed under the back burner.

One response to “growth and productivity.

  1. yayy!! im so happy about your plants :-) Rosemary is probably my favorite herb.

Leave a Reply

