back to basics.

Phew! I’m finally cooking an actual meal at home again this evening, after having eaten out for about a week now. I’ve been so exhausted, and am finally ready for things to start settling down. I’ll be home this weekend for a birthday celebration and for Easter, and the George Strait concert I bought Alex tickets to for his birthday is on Saturday, so it promises to be a relaxing and fun few days.

I feel like I don’t have much energy, but a lot has happened this week so I guess it makes sense! On Monday, I found out that I didn’t get into the MFA program at ODU, and I took Alex out to dinner at The Local to celebrate his acceptance into LC. It was delicious – he had meat loaf, and I had mushroom truffle ragout pasta. A party for your mouth, really. :)

On Tuesday, I got a phone call from the director of the MFA Program at Pine Manor College, offering me a spot in their program! This one is in Massachusetts, and it was great to get good news. The director was really nice on the phone, and I’m looking forward to getting the materials in the mail.

Today was another busy one – we put on a special seminar at work, so everything else was sort of put on hold for a couple of hours, and that’s never a good sign. Before the seminar, though, I started my “Handbuilding with Clay” class! It is amazing so far – just today, I started a mug and made a soap dish! The instructor is amazing, and is incredibly gracious when it comes to all of my silly questions. I’m actually the only new student in the class – the rest are repeats from previous classes – so it’s kind of cool to get to work closely with the instructor since everyone else knows a lot more about what they’re doing.

Now for some exciting stuff – next week, Alex and I are going to look at a couple of apartments in Lynchburg! He’s got an open house at LC on Thursday afternoon, and before we go to that we’re going to scope out some sweet spots around town. Maybe if it’s not too creepy, I’ll take some pictures!

Anyway, thanks for sticking with me on these exhausted I’m-not-so-sure-which-way-is-up posts, and enjoy this beautiful sunshine. If you’re anything like me, it’s really keeping you going these days. :)

Love!

Leave a comment

Filed under the back burner.

Leave a Reply

