tasty.

And…I’m back. Probably not for long, considering the fatigue that’s been taking over my body already this week, but I’ll stay for as long as I can. This week there’s a lot going on at both jobs, and I’m just trying to make it through. I will, and it will be worth it – I just have to keep telling myself that.

Let’s start off with Sunday – I made dinner and dessert for Me, Al, and Sebastian. I must say – it was a great success! For dinner, I made a broccoli pasta dish. I was about to start cooking when I realized I was out of olive oil, so here’s a shot of all the goodies waiting to be cooked while Al was on a Kroger run:

As for the main dish, I sort of just made it up. It was really simple, fresh, and springy. I sauteed garlic and some of my fresh basil (straight from the balcony garden!), and then added some broccoli to the pan. While that was steaming/sauteeing, I cooked some whole wheat spaghetti. Once both were done, I put the pasta and the broccoli combination in one big bowl. I added olive oil and shredded parmesan, and tossed the whole thing in a big bowl. I also served each bowl with a little shredded parm on top. Of course I forgot to take pictures of each pretty little serving, but here’s the whole thing in the bottom of my big tossing bowl (after we’ve all eaten, haha):

As for dessert, I had made the mistake of going with my mom to Sams Club on Sunday afternoon while I was starving. Let me just tell you – never do that. I mean, I managed to keep things relatively under control, but let’s just say that I walked out of there with the most huge bag of chocolate chips you’ve ever seen. The saddest part of the whole thing is that this isn’t the first time I’ve been the proud owner of one of these massive, multiple pound bags of Nestle goodness. Maybe I have a problem. So what. :)

Anyway, since the bag is huge, it boasts more recipes than normal on the back! I generally make the Nestle-suggested recipe for chocolate chip cookies, but this one had a delicious-looking recipe for Choc-Oat-Chip cookies as well. Since I had some oats left over from the dog biscuits I made for the puppies in my life as a special Christmas present (and yes, I’m serious), I decided to try the cookies out. Here they are in the early stages:

But here’s what you really wanted to see – the straight from the oven shot. These cookies turned out SO well. They’re soft, chewy, and the flavor is perfect. Here’s the choc-oat-y goodness:

All in all, the evening’s culinary endeavors were a success. Simple and easy but tasty and fulfilling – just the way I like it.

Back later with news about moving to Richmond – promise. :) Love!

1 Comment

Filed under the back burner.

One response to “tasty.

  1. R

    Those look yummilicious!

Leave a Reply

