yum yum good.

I have three new things to post about today. Actually, no. I’ll keep it to two. They’re related, and that way I can save the third for tomorrow. :)

Anyway, last week I made a delicious batch of pork chops! I found these lovely little thin-sliced ones at Kroger, and used this marinade to bake them in. I know the recipe is for salmon, but here’s the big secret — the salmon they had at the store didn’t really suit me. And I’m picky, so I used the same stuff on the pork chops. And it was delicious! Here’s proof. Look how happy they made Alex!

And a closer look!

(Side dishes: lemony couscous and sauteed broccoli, cauliflower and onions.)

So, after all that, the weekend was even more exciting. We were graced with the presence of our dear friends R and Sebastian, all the way from Charlottesville! R and I had a wonderful day, just hanging out, chatting away, and learning something new. Well, she was teaching me something new, but like I said before — I’m saving something until tomorrow. :)

So, in honor of the visitors, we had a dinner party/cookout shindig. Guests included Lauryn and Jared, Jacob of Sibling Saturday, and his friend James. It was fantastic! The weather was remarkably pleasant, and fun was had by all. But now for the good stuff. The food. Mmm.

Given my tendency to rave about her recipes (like here), Pinch My Salt is my faaaaaave food blog. I love the way Nicole puts together what she has on hand to create fabulous dinners and side dishes fit for royalty. And so, without even realizing it, I basically served a Pinch My Salt menu for our cookout. With a few tweaks here and there, I used three of her recipes for side dishes (and of course also had the cookout staple — baked beans) along with some deliciously grilled by Al chicken breasts with balsamic vinaigrette and lemon pepper. Quite delicious, and looked pretty, too!

In case you’re wondering, here are the recipes I used from Pinch My Salt to feed the crowd.

Whole Wheat Greek Orzo Salad (For this one, I actually use pasta shells instead of orzo, substitute onion and zucchini for the tomato and olives, and use whatever fresh herbs and vinegar I have on hand. I’ve made it a bunch, and it turns out a little different and equally delicious every single time.)

Sweet and Spicy Cucumber Dill Salad (So, I know a huge plus of this recipe is the fresh dill, but I’ve never had it on hand when making this dish. Dried works, too!)

Grilled Yellow Squash (Once again, all I had was zucchini. I’d never made this one before, and it was a crowd favorite! Everyone loved it, and it cooks on the grill so fast!)

Oh, and by the way…in case you’re wondering about the title of this post…it’s a restaurant. Yes, a real one. Here in Richmond. Don’t believe me? I’m serious.

Happy Monday :)

8 Comments

Filed under the back burner.

8 responses to “yum yum good.

  1. mmmm I love smitten kitchen personally. http://smittenkitchen.com/
    The photographs alone make me swoon. xo

  2. AHH! i love that one, too. R and i were just talking about it this weekend, actually. i’ve yet to make anything from there, but i’ve got a few on my list. :)

  3. Jen

    Looks like fun, wish I could have joined!! I’m glad I got to see you though :)

  4. R

    Had a blast on Saturday with you! Can’t wait to see your new post…….I know what you did last Saturday.

  5. lauryn

    so much fun :-)

Leave a Reply

