in stitches.

Drum roll, please — what you’ve all been waiting for:

MY WEEKEND SECRET.

R has taught me to knit! (Read about her recent start here.) That’s right, it’s true. After a mere MONTH of knitting herself, R has become an instructor. In just a few short moments during our day-long reunion extravaganza, she taught me how to knit! I have been wanting to learn for so long, and I cannot wait until I can learn the next thing (purling, in case you’re wondering — yeah, so what? I only know one stitch so far.)

Since R didn’t know that I’d mess up my entire creation and have to restart, she went ahead and did the “casting on” for me so that I could just get started knitting away. Unfortunately, (drum roll #2 please) I did mess up the entire creation pretty soon after she left and since I am not enough of an expert knitter to know how to fix my mistakes, I had to unravel the whole thing. Luckily, I had a few extra minutes on Sunday and was able to use my memory of watching R cast on and some very useful videos online to help me teach myself how to do the deed. It’s tricky, even watching online, and it took me a long time. I mean, a really long time. Okay, an embarrassingly long time. But what’s the big deal? I learned. :)

Anyway, the bottom line is, I’ve been meaning to do this for so long. I am fortunate enough to have in my possession some of my Maama’s old yarn and knitting needles (and crochet needles too! next goal…) to get me started free of charge in the wide world of my new hobby. Which I was totally happy about until R introduced me to this amazing blog, which makes me want to never leave my apartment except to buy supplies until I can knit every project featured on it. Dangit. Oh well, for now I think I’ll stick with my simple and rectangular masterpiece. And then (drum roll #3 please) comes the PURLING. Bring it on.

Cheers. :)

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “in stitches.

  1. R

    It looks soooo good! I feel like a bad teacher for leaving you in the dark on the cast-on portion of knitting, but I’m so proud that you taught yourself how to do it! Yay!

    • you are a GREAT teacher. how were you supposed to know i’d totally mess up the whole thing? haha. i took a little knitting break yesterday and didn’t do much, but i’m back at it today. thank you for teaching me!

  2. Love that you are knitting! I learned last summer and it was soooo comforting. Keep it up, can’t wait to see what you create.

    • isn’t it wonderful? i love it so far. hopefully i’ll be able to make something other than a scarf after a few months, but we’ll have to see about that. :)

  3. lauryn

    oh man i love that blog. so good.

Leave a Reply

