a summer salad.

Thanks to Lauryn, I made the most amazingly refreshing salad for Alex and I this evening. And, thanks to a trip to Trader Joe’s, it was tasty AND easy on the wallet.

La made this salad recently and told me I should try it out. The only change I made was to substitute feta for the bleu cheese that she used for a couple of reasons: 1) I have a big tub of feta from Sam’s Club with some left over from our cookout last weekend and 2) I don’t like bleu cheese. :)

Anyway, here are the detes.

Summery Strawberry Salad (pick your own amounts, depending on how famished you are. duh.)

Chopped romaine hearts

Sliced strawberries

Candied pecans (I used these directions. Turned out great, but a little too sweet for me. I know, they’re candied, that’s the whole point. But I plan to try using less sugar next time, to see how it works.)

Crumbled feta cheese (or bleu cheese, if you prefer)

Homemade balsamic vinaigrette (I made mine with this recipe.)

Directions: Pile all the deliciousness in a giant bowl, drizzle with dressing. ENJOY!

Just to warn you, I used way too much dressing on mine. I have a serious problem with that. So be careful with the vinaigrette unless you like to eat balsamic soup when you’re done with your salad. Dangit.

Also, I had heated up some leftover baked chicken for Alex to go along with his salad. He didn’t finish all of it, and so I chopped some up and added it to my salad bowl. It rocked. So, if you want something a little more filling, add some chicken. A-mazing.

I’ll also tell you that I’m not usually a fan of fruity salads. Fruit salad, yes — fruity (space) salad, no. BUT this one has converted me. Make it. Seriously. You’ll thank me (well, Lauryn) later.

Cheers. :)

2 Comments

Filed under the back burner.

2 responses to “a summer salad.

  1. ooh la. I think I eat more of my fair share of salads in the summer – a lot of them with mangoes! I’m not a huge fruit + salad person, but mango is great/ xo

Leave a Reply

