with what you’ve got.

Usually I’m really good at going to the grocery store. I go often, I make lists beforehand, I shop smart, you know? This week – not so much. On Sunday night, I went on a quick groceries run before Al got home, and told myself I’d go on a more thorough trip the following night. Monday night came and went – I didn’t get home until too late, and I was exhausted. Last night I went to PetSmart for food for my babies, and couldn’t muster up the energy for the grocery store too.

I did, however, want to make Alex some dinner. I’d taken out chicken to thaw in the morning, but decided to do something a little more exciting, too. I used the last of a package of pasta as a side dish, and created a delicious little vegetable medley in a saute pan. Inspired by a Crock-Pot meal I once was served by Lauryn, I sauteed red onion, apple, and sweet potato with butter, olive oil, brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt. As Al so eloquently put it: “Interesting. But delicious.”

Anyway, don’t get to thinking that I’m so creative or something to think up that combination. Onion, apple, and sweet potato were literally the only fresh foods we had on hand – so I did something with them! You should try it some time. It’s a fun game, letting your fridge get completely bare and finding ways to use the final things on the shelves. And if you play, keep me updated. I’m always up for something new. :)

Happy Wednesday!

2 Comments

Filed under the back burner.

2 responses to “with what you’ve got.

  1. Creativity knows no bounds, especially in the kitchen. Kudos to you for working with what you’ve got. Plus, the presentation is great!

Leave a Reply

