fruity.

I think I have to take back what I said earlier this year about not liking salads with fruit in them.

Why? (I know you’re asking yourself now.)

Because I’ve fallen in love with another.

Based on the Field Greens salad from here (which I had at dinner with my mom last week), I’ve been chowing down on a delicious salad with fresh lettuce/spring mix, bosc pears, candied walnuts, feta cheese, and dijon balsamic vinaigrette. I know, it’s almost exactly like my summer strawberry salad, except there are pears instead of strawberries and walnuts instead of pecans. But this one is, I think, even better. Here’s why.

Basically, it’s less sweet. While strawberries are most certainly delicious, they can be quite sweet. And, I’ve always loved pears anyway. Plus I enjoy the texture of pears better – they’re a little more firm, you know? Also, I found a new recipe for making the candied nuts. This one calls for only sugar (no butter) and they’re actually way less sweet that way. Sounds weird, I know. As for the dressing, I had a tiny bit of Kraft light balsamic left in our bottle here. I poured roughly two parts balsamic vinegar and one part olive oil in with the barely there store-bought kind, and added probably two tablespoons at least of dijon mustard. With a little shake-a-roo, you’ve got a delicious and creamy dijon balsamic.

I forgot to take a picture, and I’m sorry for that. Come back soon anyway? :)

Happy Wednesday. Go make a salad. xo

2 Comments

Filed under the back burner.

2 responses to “fruity.

  1. jmelton

    yuuuummmmmmm! Go girl!

Leave a Reply

