crafts are awesome.

Let me start by saying that DIY projects really intimidate me. I drool over projects like this and this and this, but I never follow through. Maybe I don’t have the tools or the time or the patience, but I just don’t do the projects – no matter how cool I think they are. I admire them, I wish the finished project were in my house, and I keep up that pattern until I’ve been DIY web-surfing for so long that it’s time to go to bed (aka too late to start a project anyway).

That’s why, when I stumbled across this post, I’m not sure what hit me. I don’t know if it was the adorable outcome, the use of yarn (which is my new best friend these days) or the fact that I had actually seen each and every component of the project at the local craft store, but I just went for it. Out of the blue. I started a project. Granted, it’s a small one, but it’s small and quite lovely. And it is a little time-consuming – you’d be surprised how much of a pain it is to keep tossing that skein of yarn through the middle of that wreath. I seriously think it took an hour just for that part. But in grand scheme of things – hour schmour, right?

Anyway, Danielle lays the process out p-e-r-f-e-c-t-l-y in her post, so I’ll just get straight to the big reveal. Here’s my yarn wreath! A close-up of the flowers:

And the wreath in it’s home on our front door:

As always, I’m apologizing for my pictures, but they really don’t do it justice. This thing is SO CUTE in real life, and anybody can make one! It’s simple and sweet, and will spice up any door or room or nook or cranny. The best part – so affordable! If you’ve got an hour or two and a hot glue gun (which I actually had to buy), it should cost less than ten bucks. And, if you have a few dolla dolla bills (sorry, don’t know what came over me) to spare, why not spring for some buttons or fake berries or some other adorably decorative flair to spice it up a bit?

My wreath was $3.99, the felt was on sale for 19 cents per sheet (I used three), and the yarn was about $2-3. I can’t remember exactly, but I know it was worth it. I was so excited that I already bought materials to make a special Christmas-themed one – you know, to go along with the holiday music I’m already playing. Hehe.

So there you have it – a DIY project that even I can do. And if I can do it, you can too. Try it out! And if you do – I wanna see pictures. :)

Happy Wednesday! xo

10 Comments

Filed under the back burner.

10 responses to “crafts are awesome.

  1. becky

    nikki!! i LOVE LOVE that!!! those flowers are my favorite part. i was clicking on the links of the other art projects you posted and i really like that “book”shelf one too! you could TOTALLY do that one girl! but when i clicked this wreath one, i literally gasped. i LOVE it! yours is AWESOME!! i’m totally gonna try this over thanksgiving break :) thanks for the inspiration!

    • yay, beck! you will love making it – it’s the perfect do-it-yourself because you can see the results so quickly, AND because it’s so pretty! they also have smaller versions of the straw wreath part that would be great for gifts. enjoy! :)

  2. R

    Lovely lovely. I bought red yarn with red sparkles and white felt. Christmas, here we come! I can’t wait to see your wreath in real life on Saturday!

  3. Love, love, love it! Can you make one for my door? :) I too clicked on the other links and the little table made of books and a belt looks pretty easy to do and so practical! Who doesn’t need one of those little suckers to hold up coffee cups? Now if I could only find the time and the energy! :)

  4. lauryn

    Nik! It looks sooooo awesome. Can I put in a request for the galloway house?

Leave a Reply

