writer’s wednesday [saunders]

“I also hated the Gallo brothers, Ernest and Julio, whose jovial faces beamed from the labels of their wine, labels I would find, torn and curled, when I burned the trash. I noted the Gallo brothers’ address in California and studied the road atlas to see how far that was from Ohio, because I meant to go out there and tell Ernest and Julio what they were doing to my father, and then, if they showed no mercy, I would kill them.”

-from “Under the Influence” by Scott Russell Saunders

Leave a comment

Filed under the back burner.

Leave a Reply

